Chocolate Mousse

20170427_180834Is there anybody else out there who has always thought it wasteful pouring the liquid from tinned items down the sink? Sometimes I think maybe I should keep the brine in case there are any leftover beans/chickpeas when I’m finished or I wonder if I could use this for something else? Maybe I’m just a tight ass who doesn’t like throwing thing away (I would class myself a hoarder in every other aspect of my life) but I can’t deny the slight excitement when I read that you can use this liquid!

I follow a variety of different food ‘bloggers’ or ‘Instagramers’ and some of them are completely vegan. One of these is Marie @therawberry who uploaded a similar recipe to this one using ‘aquafaba’. The recipe said one can of chickpeas (make 1/2 cup aquafaba) and I was really curious. What does someone do when they want to find something out? Yup, I googled it! If you Google aquafaba Wikipedia will tell you straight away “Aquafaba is the name for the viscous water in which legume seeds such as chickpeas have been cooked. The tight ass in me had found a way to make use of the leftover liquid and boy was I curious to see what it actually tasted like.

I have to admit I was a little unsure about what it would actually taste like because if you’ve ever us liquid, it isn’t something I would be rushing to put in a dessert. While making the mousse I made sure I tasted everything each step of the way and while I was trying to be optimistic, didn’t hold out much hope after I had finished beating the aquafaba. I am glad however, that I persisted! The result was delish after being refridgerated for a little bit and I was so excited to take it to work for a colleague who is allergic to eggs….next experiment…Pavlova!

Vegan Chocolate Mousse (with aquafaba)

Ingredients

Liquid from 1 can cannellini beans
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp maple syrup
100g dark chocolate, melted

Method 

  1. Boil water in a small saucepan, place chocolate in heat proof owl and place over water once boiling to melt.

    Snapchat-234154508
    Consistency of aquafaba
  2. While chocolate is melting, beat liquid until soft peaks form (should be able to hold bowl upside down without losing anything).
  3. Gently stir through vanilla extract and maple syrup.
  4. Make sure chocolate has cooled before folding through aquafaba.
  5. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours before eating.
Leave a Reply

