Chocolate Breakfast Bowl

The Easter long weekend – a four day holiday meant for spending time with family and friends out in the sun before the Winter months take that freedom away. Instead, I was stuck indoors writing an assignment that I wasn’t too thrilled about! My emotions and diet reflected that also but did my best to snack on healthier alternatives which was hard from 3pm onwards.

I did start Easter Sunday off with an amazing breakfast bowl as I thought it would be a treat to have chocolate for breakfast (without the chocolate of course). As with my Cookie Dough and Peanut Butter Chocolate Parfait on Friday morning, I had seen quite a few similar recipes used what I had learnt from them. I made this recipe for one but put quantities for 2 servings up on Instagram.

I might just add that I am conscious of the nutritional value of all the ingredients I put into my recipes so try and keep quantities to a reasonable amount.

Chocolate Breakfast Bowl
Serves: 1

Chocolate Oats
1/4 cup oats
1 tbsp protein powder
1/2 cup almond milk (or your choice of plant based milk)
1 tbsp cacao powder
1 tsp coconut syrup (or sweetener of choice)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and stir over low heat. Allow to cook anywhere between 5 and 10 minutes until mixture becomes thick and creamy.

Chocolate Smoothie
1/4 avocado (I love adding avocado for the creaminess but could have used less)
1/2 banana (I used the other half for the top)
1/2 tbsp peanut butter/
1 medjool date
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup almond milk

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until well combined.

Add both mixtures to a bowl or dish for serving and then decorate with our choice of fruits, nuts and other condiments.

 

Leave a comment